Dove Hair Therapy- Straight and Silky – All day straightening cream Review

Dove Hair Therapy-Straight and Silky – All day straightening cream Review

Hello,

This is a review of a hair care product- Dove Hair Therapy -Straight and Silky – All day straightening cream Review. It is a leave-on cream for the hair. I bought this as a replacement for my conditioner that got over.

dove all day straightening cream review

Price: Around 10 MYR for 120 ml

About the product:

dove conditioner

All Day Straightening Cream

New Dove All Day Straightening Cream. Its leave-on formula works for 24 hrs to moisturize hair. It contains Pro-Moisture Complex that repairs damaged cuticles that cause misbehaving fluffy hair, leaving it softer, straighter and more manageable.

Directions: Apply on damp or dry hair as needed throughout the day.

Ingredients:ingredients dove

Packaging: It has a convenient twist and squeeze plastic bottle packaging.

My experience with Dove Straight and Silky-All Day Straightening Cream:

As I mentioned before, this is a leave-on cream for the hair. Let me brief you on what I think this cream is not. It is not a serum. Hence, you require more quantity for each use. There is no mention of heat protecting elements anywhere on the packaging. So, do not use it as one. It is not a setting cream. So do not expect it to hold the hair in a certain way.

The consistency of the cream is quite thick. The quantity required for each use is about a small coin size. The exact quantity would be determined by the type of hair. Do not apply on the roots and try to use it only on the hair. Ones with very dry hair would require more quantity than the ones with oily hair. So, apply a little on your hair and see the effect before layering more, if you do not want to end up with greasy hair. The product is not at all sticky/greasy if applied in the right quantity.

I have dry straight-wavy hair. The effect of this cream on my dry hair is wonderful. I can actually see the frizzy hair getting settled down. It becomes more manageable and smooth. But if you have very unruly hair (curly hair) the effects could be minimal.

I am not sure of the straightening part written on the product. I think it is intended to be used just before you use flat iron/straighten hair.  There is no mention of heat protectants though. Since I do not straighten my hair using roller/flat iron, it does not bother me.

By itself the product does not straighten the hair. It just leaves it more manageable and frizz free. The effect lasts through 5-6 hours to almost a full day depending on the hair type. The best way is to apply the product just before you want the perfect manageable hair look.

Many a times I am lazy and even though I have dry hair, I am guilty of skipping the conditioner step post shampooing. While I was buying the cream, I merely bought it to try out a new product. What I did not know was that, this cream provided me with an easy hair care step. When I look at the mirror, my dry, rough hair makes me feel guilty and makes me use this product then and there :).

Pros:

  • Makes hair silky and manageable
  • Reduces frizz
  • Moisturizes hair
  • Non sticky
  • Quick and easy

Cons:

  • Not sure of straightening claims
  • The effects do not last till next wash
  • It contains silicones

My verdict: 4.25/5 A quick fix hair conditioner

 

 

 

Leave a comment